Monthly Archives: September 2015

Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements in Georgia

Georgia-minimum-auto-insurance

Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements in Georgia

Every state requires that motorists have a specific amount of insurance coverage on their vehicle.  If a motorist isn’t properly insured they can face criminal penalties, fines, and other fees associated with not having insurance. If you are involved in an accident without the required amount of motor vehicle insurance, penalties can be increased. Georgia has specific laws mandating the minimum amount of coverage a motorist is required to have if they own a motor vehicle.

A Fault State

Georgia is a “fault” state which means that the driver who causes the accident is liable for the injuries and property damaged caused in the accident. Their insurance policy will be looked at first for compensation. When you contact a personal injury attorney they can guide you through the process of filing a claim with the other driver’s insurance company, as well as their own insurance company. States that are called “at-fault” states must first use their minimum medical insurance coverage for medical expenses before the at-fault driver’s insurance company can be asked to pay for expenses.

What Insurance Am I Required By Georgia Law To Carry?

The law in Georgia specifically states that liability insurance must have liability insurance. The minimum coverage is shown below:

  • $25,000 for the injury or death of one person (yourself, passenger, another driver, pedestrian, etc.)
  • $50,000 for the injury or death of more than one person in a single accident
  • $25,000 for property damage

Remember, these are minimum requirements. If it is possible, you may want to get coverage that is beyond the minimum required. If any claims exceed your limits you will still be required to pay costs that are above your level of coverage.

Additional Coverage Not Required By Georgia Law

As stated above, you may want to carry additional coverage if you are ever involved in a motor vehicle accident. Under-insured / uninsured motorist coverage isn’t mandatory in Georgia; however, if you are involved in an accident in which the at-fault motorist has no insurance or poor insurance coverage, you will be protected by your under-insured/uninsured motorist coverage, also known as UIM.  Be aware however, that Georgia UIM coverage is divided into two categories. Reduction and Excess coverage. Excess coverage will go on top of the insurance limits the other motorist may have. If your UIM policy is $25,000 and they have coverage of $25,000 then the overages will cancel each one out. But if you have $100,000.00 in UIM, you would have an additional $75,000.00 of possible coverage make sure you have the minimum auto insurance requirements in Georgia.

If you have been injured in a motor vehicle accident contact Attorney Skip McManes. He has 23 years of personal injury experience and can help you sort out the particulars of your motor vehicle accident. He will work to get you a fair settlement.  Contact McManes Law at (770) 645-8801, Toll Free at (866) 612-2481, or visit our website.   We offer free consultations.  Even if we aren’t able to take your case we will be able to direct you on to your next step.

What Does A Workers Compensation Claims Adjuster Do

Insurance Claim Form

What Does A Workers Compensation Claims Adjuster Do

Workers Compensation Claims Adjusters evaluate claims for the insurance company. They can work for workers compensation companies or vehicle insurance companies. The most widely known are adjusters from the auto insurance companies.

When you are involved in an auto accident you will have to file a claim with your insurance company.  After the accident, they will contact you regarding damage to your vehicle or other property. They will gather information such as photographs of the damage. They will also evaluate the damage to your vehicle or property while they are there. During the process they will be working with possibly, another person’s insurance company, police, fire and ambulance personnel and treating physicians. They will build a case report for the insurance company to find out who was at fault for an accident, why the accident occurred and what the appropriate compensation would be for you or someone involved.

The insurance filing process is simple in some ways and complicated in other ways. Some people have a hard time understanding if they have never been in an accident Personal Injury Attorney or filed a claim before. One thing to always remember, the insurance adjuster isn’t working for you. They will be working for the company that employs them. Their goal is to settle claims as fast as they can. They will also settle the claim for the smallest amount possible. If you settle your claim too fast after an auto accident then it becomes very likely that you won’t be able to get payment for medical expenses, lost wages, or other expenses if they arise. Don’t be too hasty when settling a claim.

Why Is It Important To Get Legal Representation?

When you do speak with an insurance adjuster or Workers Compensation Claims Adjuster
always be mindful of what you say.  Never say, “I’m alright”, or “I’m feeling fine today” as these may be misconstrued in a claims report that you felt fine after the accident. This type of statement is one that can put holes in your case and cause the settlement value to be reduced. The settlement value of your case will be the final amount paid for injuries and property damage. The adjuster may ask to record your conversations regarding the accident.  Never let an adjuster record your statement.  If they ask you to make any type of statements, recorded or otherwise, simply let them know that you would like to speak with an attorney first before making any statements.

Whenever you are in doubt about any part of the Workers Compensation Claims Adjuster process be sure to consult an attorney.  A qualified and experienced personal injury attorney will be able to help you. Before you speak with an insurance adjuster – contact Attorney Skip McManes (770) 645-8801.  McManes Law has a proven track record of getting fair settlements for those who have been injured in an accident.  Mr. McManes will discuss your case with you free of charge. Contact McManes Law today at www.mcmaneslaw.com and fill out our online consultation form.

Wrongful Death Lawsuit

Wrongful Death Lawyer

Wrongful Death Lawsuit

Someone’s negligence can have major consequences including death. Whether it be because of medical malpractice, truck or pedestrian accident, or negligence on the part of a hospital or nursing home, the family of the deceased is able to bring a wrongful death lawsuit against the negligent party.

Negligence can occur in many forms. It can include defective devices, hospital or nursing home negligence, medical malpractice, or auto accidents. For example, if your loved one was admitted into the hospital for a minor problem and a representative of the hospital such as a nurse, or technician, fails to double check medication allergies and administers the wrong type of drug, this can result in their death. The hospital will be held liable for the medical mistake that was made.  In another scenario, if your loved one has been placed in a nursing home and staff members have been withholding food, or failing to treat pressure sores correctly causing a deadly infection, the patients family would have a right to file a lawsuit against that nursing home for negligence.

It used to be widely held that a lawsuit couldn’t be brought against an entity such as the ones listed above because the deceased person would have to bring the lawsuit.  However, loved ones are now allowed to bring suit against those who are negligent and seek compensation for lost income and loss of earning potential, medical expenses, funeral expenses, compensation for the decedent’s pain and suffering and the pain and suffering experienced by the surviving spouse, children, and other family members. The remaining family may also become bogged down in other legal matters such as the deceased estate, death benefits and other litigation that is directed at settling portions of the estate.

Wrongful death lawsuit cases have a statute of limitations or a set amount of time that the case can be brought before the court. The statute of limitations for wrongful death lawsuits cases is 2 years from the date of death in Georgia. You must file your suit within this period of time. If not, you lose your right to file a lawsuit. If the lawsuit to be filed is against a government entity or municipality in Georgia, the statute of limitations is shortened to to as little as 6 months.

Navigating legal waters alone can be confusing and overwhelming. Your attorney will know exactly what needs to be filed and what evidence needs to be presented in order to get the compensation that you and your family deserve. Be aware, that insurance companies Wrongful Death Lawsuit

will be looking to settle your case as quickly and as cheaply as possible. Insurance adjusters work for the insurance companies, therefore, never make a deal with any type of insurance company without your attorney being notified first.

Losing a loved one is a stressful and emotional time, especially if they are lost suddenly because of factors that could possibly have been prevented.  Attorney Skip McManes is an experience and compassionate personal injury attorney who has worked with many families who have experienced loss such as this. He is ready to win your case and get the compensation that the family deserves. We treat your case with personal care and you will be informed about everything going on in your case in a timely manner.

Contact Skip McManes at McManes Law via our website  or via telephone at (770) 645-8801, Toll Free at (866) 612-2481.  McManes Law offers free consultations and can discuss your case with you in order to guide you in the right direction with your Wrongful Death Lawsuit.