Atlanta Georgia Personal Injury Attorneys
Personal injury can take many forms and may arise from very different circumstances. It is always a good idea to keep yourself informed about what personal injury entails in order to protect yourself and your rights.
One of the first things you need to know is that personal injury laws have been put into place in order to protect you if you are ever involved in an accident. Personal injury is a kind of “tort law”. Torts are wrongful acts that were either accidental or intentional, and resulted in injury to you. Tort law allows you to bring a lawsuit against the person who hurt you and you can be awarded financial compensation for any damages you suffered such as lost wages, or medical bills.
The first thing that your Atlanta Georgia Personal Injury Attorneys will look at is liability. Liability will show exactly who was at fault. Liability, as it pertains to personal injury, means that the liable, or at fault, person is obligated to make payments to the party they wronged for injuries sustained. Your personal injury attorney will go over your case and discuss liability with you.
Negligence is the key to any personal injury case. Negligence means one party did not use a reasonable amount of care and the result is an injury to the other party. Negligence can take two forms. One party may do something the other party wouldn’t deem as reasonable, or one party fails to take any action to prevent harm or injury to the other party. Each person has a duty of care. This means each person has a responsibility, or duty to act with a reasonable amount of care when they are driving, walking, or working. For example, if someone is talking and texting on their phone while they are driving, they aren’t acting with a reasonable amount of care for other drivers on the road. That driver’s actions could cause an accident.
Georgia is a “no-fault” state for workers compensation injuries. This means that compensation after an accident will be based upon the type and amount of injury that you suffered, whether or not you lost time at work, and any out of pocket expenses that had to be paid. No-fault also means that no matter whose fault the accident was, you are still entitled to workers compensation for your injuries.
The State of Georgia also has laws regarding how much time you have to file a personal injury claim. Statute of limitations refers to a specific block of time that has been set by statute in order to file a lawsuit. The set amount of time in Georgia for a personal injury case is 2 years. You must file your claim within this set amount of time. After the 2 years has passed, you will no longer be able to file a personal injury claim.
Because personal injury cases can become complicated quickly, it is in your best interest to hire an experienced Atlanta Georgia Personal Injury Attorneys. Skip McManes has many years of experience and the expertise needed to work on your personal injury case. Hiring the right Atlanta Georgia Personal Injury Attorneys can cut down on stress and you will be able to focus on healing after an accident. Let McManes Law help you get the compensation you deserve if you have been injured in a accident. Consultations are always free.
You can contact McManes law via the internet at www.mcmaneslaw.com, or by telephone (770) 645-8801 or Toll Free at (866) 612-2481.