Georgia Worker’s Compensation Attorneys
Are you in need of legal help for a work-related injury or illness? Look no further than a McManes Law your trused Workers’ Compensation Lawyer, In Georgia, employers are required to carry Workers’ Compensation insurance, but injured employees often face intimidation and confusion from insurance companies, leading them to miss out on the benefits they deserve.
It happens all the time: people get injured at work. A construction worker strains his back on a new project, a nurse hurts her knees helping a patient out of bed, an office assistant slips on a wet surface and breaks a bone.
Have you been injured at work or on the job? Have you become sick because of your job? Then you may be entitled to financial compensation for lost wages and medical expenses-no matter whose fault it is.
Many workers fail to receive the benefits they deserve. While employers in Georgia are legally required to carry Workers’ Compensation insurance, injured employees are often intimidated or confused by greedy insurance companies-don’t let it happen to you.
WORKERS COMPENSATION LAW
Workers’ compensation was established in the State of Georgia to compensate individuals who have been injured on the job.
WHAT BENEFITS AM I ENTITLED TO UNDER THE WORKERS’ COMPENSATION LAWS IN THE STATE OF GEORGIA?
The main benefits which an individual can receive under the Georgia Workers’ Compensation Act include the following:
1. Wages, based upon your average weekly wage;
2. Medical benefits, to treat your work-related injury;
3. A permanent partial disability rating based upon your permanent injuries; and
4. Potential settlement.
WHAT ARE THE MAXIMUM BENEFITS WHICH I CAN RECEIVE?
In the state of Georgia, the maximum lost wage benefit which you can receive is currently $525.00 per week. These benefits are tax-free and can be paid for a maximum of 400 weeks, unless your case is deemed catastrophic.
The medical benefits which you can receive are potentially unlimited as the employer and insurer are responsible for your medical treatment without regard to cost. The reality however is that the insurance company will try and limit the medical costs to your case.
The permanent partial disability benefits which you may receive are dictated by the Georgia Workers’ Compensation Act.
AM I AN EMPLOYEE OR INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR?
We often receive questions as to whether an individual is an employee or an independent contractor. If you are truly an independent contractor, you will not receive workers’ compensation coverage from your “employer.” It is often times a complex and fact-intensive evaluation as to whether an individual is truly an employee or an independent contractor.
CAN I RECEIVE PAIN AND SUFFERING FOR MY WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INJURY?
No, the workers’ compensation laws in the State of Georgia do not allow for any recovery or payment of pain and suffering.
DO I GET PAID MILEAGE TO GO TO AND FROM MY MEDICAL APPOINTMENTS?
Yes, currently, the State Board of Workers’ Compensation allows for $.40 per mile for travel to and from any medical appointments.
WHEN MUST I FILE A CLAIM FOR WORKERS’ COMPENSATION BENEFITS?
You must file a claim for workers’ compensation benefits within one year from the date of your accident, or from the date of your last medical treatment. It is best to contact the Law Offices of Skip McManes for assistance in making sure all of the proper forms have been filed with the State Board of Workers’ Compensation.
WHAT IF MY CASE IS CATASTROPHIC?
A catastrophic claim means you have had a very serious injury. Handling a catastrophic claim requires an experienced lawyer to assist you in obtaining all of your benefits. Please call my office for a free consultation.
Skip McManes of McManes Law is one of Atlanta Georgia’s most respected Workers Compensation lawyers. With insider knowledge and proven strategies, Skip and his legal team can help you recover the compensation you deserve.
Skip truly cares for his clients, personally meeting each and every one. He’ll listen to you closely, discuss your options, and craft a brilliant strategy to get the insurance companies to pay. You can stop worrying we handle everything for you.
YOU DON’T PAY UNLESS YOU COLLECT
Only pay if you successfully receive compensation.
FREE CASE REVIEW
Call McManes Law at (770) 645-8801 or complete the online form for a legal consultation absolutely free of charge. Skip and his team will contact you within one business day to discuss your case, your options, and what benefits you may collect.